2015 March Calendar

Planning for the future

So it’s been quite a while since I’ve take the time to invest my energy in something creative and that’s something that’s not acceptable at all. I’ve finally graduated after way too many years and after all the job hopping I want to settle down and do something with the piece of paper I paid so much for. I’ve got a fair few ideas in mind, the number one being sharing and selling all the little ideas running around in my head with anyone who wants them. I had quite a fun time making so many of my own wedding stationery, why not make something for others.

Today’s work though isn’t for a wedding at all. As the media manager for my church, one of my favorite things I’m in charge of and also the most aggravating, is our monthly calendar. You would think of course that a calendar is quite easy. It’s just a bunch of boxes and lines and numbers.

March Calendar Week One
A screenshot of the first week of a 2015 March calendar.

Everything seems lined up quite nicely. The numbers are all the same size and an equal distance apart. The words are all the same font and centered. The amount of guides, shifting, resizing, distorting and patience to get everything perfect is tedious but for me always worth the effort. In the end you get something you’re generally proud of. Once you’ve gotten everything to the size you need, for one row, copying and pasting makes most of the rest of the work easy. Each row can be repeated and changed and then shifted over to match. The holidays are inserted and the name of the month put on top. All done!

2015 March Calendar
A screenshot of a full 2015 March Calendar.

I love the green in March btw, it’s my favorite color, not to mention my birthday is in March. And for one month I can put aside this calendar and not worry. Until April comes around and everything has to be shifted again but that’s another day. Till next time!

Leave a Reply

