Digital Drawing

So I’ve been playing around with Illustrator a bit lately. It started with trying to see how well I can actually draw. It’s a common misconception that all Graphic Designers can draw. I have a small bit of talent when it comes to the skill but nothing to brag about. What I do like about drawing though is scanning in my sketches and tracing them in Illustrator. I find the easiest way to do this is scan the drawing at a resolution f 300 or more. This darkens the lines and makes it easier for illustrator to trace it. If it’s still not dark enough, I usually pop it into photoshop and up the contrast then the fun begins.

Using different textures, the pen tool and masking layers, it’s quite easy to take a simple sketch and make into something interesting. Illustrator’s trace tool can take some getting use to though. Figuring out how much of a threshold is needed, if it needs more path or noise isn’t very easy some of the time and depends on the photo.

ImageIronically, I’m not a very fashion forward person, at least I don’t think I am. I like what I like even if it’s not necessarily in style. I would wear all of the above sketched items though. I think next time, I’ll try drawing something a little more fun. I’m getting married soon, so maybe I’ll sketch a wedding dress I know I’ll never wear? (Mine is already picked out) =]

Till next time.

Leave a Reply

